New Year Resolutions!

I know I know it is more of a myth…however I found merit in even just jotting the resolutions. Just making a list put things into perspective hence would say it does have its merits, even though one doesn’t take it till its fag end or worse still that it is forgotten the next day!

I chose two topics, Riyaz and Reading Books (hard copy). This is something that I started midway last year…to explore whether the basics has merit or the technological advanced option of the same. To explain, whether a hard copy or a Kindle version? So have concluded that I would like to go ahead with reading books, the hard copy version and do riyaz the old way ie. supported by a tanpura and not a droid (the online version).

Both, the riyaz and books, had taken a back seat…it is now time to give it its rightful space in my life. It has started off well so far and already can see huge benefits. Discipline and purpose sets in leading to a constructive day. You do not have to think much of what next, it is there to happen. Things happen organically rather than made to happen. Thats the thing, you have to “do” to actually experience. There is huge material on what to do, how to do, when to do…the point remains, unless you do it one doesn’t know what fits best for oneself.

Raag Yaman it is for the last couple of months. Everyday riyaz brings a freshness into ones voice. Identifying the place of swars in your vocals improves. One starts befriending the swars. They intimidate you lesser. So far so good…

Books were always for me a window to the world…I had stopped looking out through that window. Now have started again. Having an outside view is like having a one sided conversation with the outside. New thoughts, fresh perspectives, new cultures, new words, new expressions…keeps you engaged with the plot.

I follow @storytellersavi on instagram and she is responsible for my picking up books again. Have aimed at three books in a month and lets see how it goes.

These are a few of my thoughts on resolutions, riyaz and reading again. What are yours?

Leave a comment